Masturbation & Menstruation

Have you ever thought that masturbating during your period is ‘weird’? You are not alone! A lot of women feel awkward when thinking about masturbation on their period!

In the 2011 study by Breanne Fahs, done in the USA, for example, one woman reported that when masturbating, she usually thinks: ‘What are you doing? You’re a weirdo.’

According to Fahs, it may be linked to the shame you feel about your body shape or the lack of self-love. Hence, if so, you have worse attitudes towards masturbation, you may practise or enjoy this exercise less than the rest of us.

We encourage you to explore your body without any regret, even during the menstrual phase. We all should benefit from this pleasure activity without experiencing guilty! Follow the advice of other women in the study:

‘I have had really good experiences masturbating and I think it’s taught me what I like, and I’ve been able to have better sex because of it. ‘

‘ It makes me feel in control, like I have a deeper connection with my body.’

So, the lesson of today is: LOVE YOURSELF! Accept your period and revel in masturbating. As one woman in that study said: ‘Can a girl masturbate in peace, please? ‘.

Reference: Fahs, B. (2011). Sex during menstruation: Race, sexual identity, and women’s accounts of pleasure and disgust. Feminism & Psychology21(2), 155-178. http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.871.4266&rep=rep1&type=pdf

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started